Printer, Farmer, Pharisee… (a.k.a. All my answers from the test.)

An astronomer looking at the stars, and falling into an abyss (1789-92)

An astronomer looking at the stars, and falling into an abyss (1789-92)

The conversation was the dogmatic ideas presented in Brad Warner’s last book mixed with his recent blog post about the Bill Nye/Ken Ham Creation and Evolution debate (Source: http://hardcorezen.info/creation-vs-evolution-debate/2528) :

I think the difference here is, if you were to back Brad Warner into a corner, he’d be the first to admit that he is ‘just a bass player in a rock band.’ The thing I have always loved about Zen is that it holds ‘or maybe not’ as its center. Backed into a corner, I am sure both Nye and Ham would give a very loud, “Do you know who I am?”

Nearly every belief appears to have hit us like there is a UFO that flies over, throwing religious texts and instruction manuals out the window every millennium. Each one gets grabbed and devoured and turns into something else. One day, they pitch out an easy one, “I AM” and it goes from a sacred name of an Unknowable God to a turn of phrase in everyday speech.

I am entertained with the creation story of one group or another that had the Creator Deity create the world and get bored. Someone convinces him to chop himself into infinite pieces, and each of us is a fleck of the God trying to experience everything in life in an effort to reform himself.

I am sure that this is born of learning about Gnostics in some far away Sunday School Class. The concept of God is Unknowable went in compliment with ‘God works in mysterious ways,’ the classic ‘sorry for your loss.’ The idea that God is beyond comprehension tells me that even to try to structure the Unknowable is bound to a false ‘observer-expectency bias,’ with the guesstimates of the expectations of the Unknowable.

I suppose you can say that I am an Atheist because I believe in God.

My favorite after-death these days is that you hit the end of the road and your number’s up. Your life flashes before your eyes. You see all the missed opportunity and things you regret not living long enough to do… and the bulb goes out. They unplug you from the education machine and you are 13 again. A lifetime of experience in ‘The Land of Virgins.’ Time being relative, everyone you ever knew and loved got unplugged at the same time.

In the end, your whole reality ends at the edge of your vision and all you control is you. Your love will go on, and you’ll start treating people as if you are all going to end up running into each other again on the playground.

Jesus said the chief commandment was love God and then each other, ‘The Great Commandment.’ Just be cool and don’t be a jerk. Wonder at little things. Give a little love to everyone, no matter who they are, and it will come out right in the end. Just be. I AM. Who am I?

By the way, I haven’t read Brad Warner‘s new book, “There is No God and He Is Always With You” but not because I don’t want to. His words resonate with me, and I hope that we end up going to the same school.

Leave a Reply

